Recurse Center Day 1

Day 1 of Hacker School is over – it was so incredibly amazing.

The day started off with basic welcome/social type things, and then moved on to Check-Ins and Tune Ups.  After that, it was up to us what we did with our day.  I got acquainted with our internal communication tools, and then got lunch at a nearby Thai place with a bunch of other people.

When I got back, I participated in a Git For Beginners Workshop.  That was amazingly helpful/clarifying … Even though I’ve used Git before, it helped solidify my understanding & make it less abstract.  I’ve still got some loose ends to tie up – but those will be easier to tackle now.

After that, I wandered around the space a bit & checked out the Hardware Room and the Library.  Eventually I settled on the Python Cookbook – and now I’m going over String Manipulation & File Manipulation.  I wish I’d had access to the Cookbook before – it’s so helpful/my style.

I’m really excited to be filling in the fundamentals.  It’s going to make me such a better programmer.

This program is really such a dream come true!

Recurse Center Day 1

Leave a Reply

